Pittsburgh

So.

Pittsburgh.

Benjamin and I have lived in Pittsburgh for just about two years now. Two whole years! Golly. The time has slipped away. And truth be told…we love it.

Pittsburgh has everything we want in a place to live, minus one very important thing: proximity to family. It has A M A Z I N G food, museums, an international airport, Trader Joe’s, Whole Foods, a couple skyscrapers and pretty cool concerts…but we are 5 1/2 hours away from family. And I know that isn’t too much of a distance, but sometimes it feels like an ocean.

I was always so certain that I’d never live far away from my Taylor clan. I imagined that we’d all at least live in the same state. Except now each of us is spreading out across the country, and I feel helpless and angsty. Which is ridiculous because duh, everyone gets to figure out their path themselves.

Another worry is this: I’m afraid that I’ll quite fall in love with Pittsburgh, but that Benjamin’s work will uproot us again, and I’ll have to start rebuilding a life again. And let me be quite clear–starting fresh somewhere new is not my favorite.

Chances are, we will have one more big move before Ben’s education is quite complete. After residency, we will move on to Fellowship, and that could take us just about anywhere. But not likely nearer family.

So yeah. Today I have the sad because I’m afraid of what the future will hold for me. I recognize the insanity of letting these worries possess me–everything is quite out of my hands and I should just enjoy this lovely spring evening. But it is so much easier to type those words than to actually relish how serene my life is right now…<sigh>

So I don’t quite end on a morbid note, here is a list of my favorite PGH-ish things thus far:

1. Kennywood.
2. Walking along the strip district and discovering new shops and food vendors.
3. Lush, beautifully maintained city parks.
4. Library system.
5. Duquesne Incline.
6. R E S T A U R A  N T S (Guacho, Park Brugge, Il Pizzaiolo, Burgatory, Franktuary, etc,.)
7. Museums–Art, Natural History, Andy Warhol, etc,.
8. Friendly people.

There is still so much of the city I have yet to explore. The National Aviary is on my list, as well as Phipp’s Conservatory. Luckily I still have three more years to enjoy every single bit of this wonderful place.

Leave a Reply

