23

My birthday was last week. We celebrated with sushi, to Benjamin’s chagrin. But luckily they had a steak roll, so he survived.

It’s funny…I don’t feel any different. Not sure why, but every single year I somehow expect this year to be different, as if I’ll magically feel my soul shifting as I lean into a new year…but no such experience has hit me yet. Oh well. Maybe next year.

We went to Detroit on the Benjamin half of birthday week (mine on Monday, his on Thursday), and we caught some staggeringly good concerts: Andrew Bird on the 14th, and Ben Harper and the Innocent Criminals on the 15th. I can’t even begin to describe my emotions as I contemplate those concerts. Seeing Andrew Bird was like having an organic high–I honestly haven’t felt so trance-like since my last benedryl episode–all the colors melted and life was perfect. And Ben Harper–I can’t even. What a man. And his band is so beautifully legit. And he picked a fiiiiiiiiine opener. Andrew Bird’s opener kinda sucked, but Ben Harper had this dude called Christopher Paul Stelling, and he was pretty cool.

Processed with VSCO with a8 preset

Anyway. Those concerts got me thinking. I should share my concert bucket list, and then I can cross each one off as I see them?

Yeah. I like that.

Bold = seen.

Alabama Shakes

alt-J

Andrew Bird

Arcade Fire

Avett Brothers, The

Band of Horses

Ben Harper

Beck

Ben Folds

Ben Kweller

CHVRCHES (seeing them in September)

Death Cab For Cutie

Decemberists, The

Flaming Lips, The

Flight of the Conchords

Jack Johnson

Josh Ritter

Jukebox and the Ghost

Local Natives

Lou Doillon

M83 

Macklemore

Ok Go

Paul McCartney

Punch Brothers

Purity Ring

Radiohead

Ray Lamontagne

Regina Spektor

Sharon Van Etten

Shins, The

Sufjan Stevens

Vampire Weekend

Xavier Rudd

Weepies, The

Meh. That’s enough. I already feel super overwhelmed that I maybe won’t ever be able to see them all <tear leaks from corner of right eye>

OH WELL. I’m twenty-three now, so the world is my oyster. Boo-yah.

Leave a Reply

